Recognize Simple Blessings

Standard

I usually write in my blog on Tuesdays however, Monday is the 6 month anniversary of my twin sisters passing and Tuesday is the 26th week, so, I think I will be unable to write then. I actually have tomorrow off but my husband has insisted I go to work with him. He is only working a ½ day then we can spend the day together in Flagstaff, in the cool mountains. He worries that I will fall into the pit of grief and though I don’t believe I will, I have taken him up on his offer because I love spending time with him.

Out of AfricaTwo days ago, my husband and I and our daughter went to visit the Out of Africa Wild Animal Park. It is only 15-20 minutes away from our home and has been there for years however we had never visited. So we played tourist and spent a good part of Friday there.

They had some marvelous animals there. Of course we loved the wolves. We just happened to luck out on our dates to attend as the owners of the park were there Friday and actually were the drivers of the little tram we took around the park. So when they got to the wolf pen, they got out of the tram and stepped inside the enclosure. All three wolves came racing over, and fawned over the two owners, rubbing and standing on their back legs to be able to lick the owners faces. Was quite lovely to realize these were wild animals yet they saw this man and woman as their equals or actually, as cubs so there was no fighting or need to dominate the pack. They were merely accepted as pups that have never grown up.

For those familiar with my blog, you will know that one of my identical twin sisters favorite creatures is the zebra. There were quite a few in an enclosure at the zoo, reminding me of her. However, there was also this little “buy a coin” machine near the gift shop in the zoo. My husband dropped some money in for our 17-year old daughter to pick a coin with an animal totem on it. Then he pushed another button saying, “I think my honey needs this one.”

On one side of the coin was the name of the park, along with a stylized version of a lion. On the other side of the coin was the totem. My daughter had chosen a hyena because they had a pair at the zoo and they were remarkable animals to see in real life.
For me, my husband had pushed the zebra coin. A lovely little zebra, in memory of my twin. The coins are a copper/brass color, shining and fun. With one exception.

Again, those that have followed my blog know my sweet twin sister was a severe asthmatic and died of unexpected complications that had occurred during open heart surgery. If you look at the image of the coin below, the remarkable thing that most definitely struck my heart, is a flaw on this particular coin…

There was a dull and discolored area immediately above the zebras chest, where it’s heart and lungs would be. My husband hadn’t looked at the coin when he handed it to me. It was meant to be a sweet surprise. But when he saw me just standing there, staring at it, he could tell something had happened. At first he was going to buy another coin for me then he stopped and said, “No. This one was meant especially for you. It was meant to be.”

And indeed it was.

Out of Africa Zebra

Leave a Reply

