An Ornament

Standard

My twin sister has been in zebra ornament 1my mind every moment of every day this December.  It’s a tough one I guess, the first Christmas without my Kishma.  I was getting ready to go to bed three nights ago and decided I would “whip up” a few salt dough ornaments. Specifically, a zebra ornament in her memory.  Though I’m an artist, I am not a sculptor by any means. So it was fun kneading together this little jewel.  Not nearly as forgiving as clay or sculpy, it was tough but fun.  As I’ve written in the past, one of Kishma’s totems was a zebra. She loved them.  So I cooked this up Monday night, painted her white last night and put the stripes on her tonight.  She has wings because my twin is no longer bound to a mortal form and is free from the burdens she carried here.  And though you can’t see it very well, there is a green bow holding her to the Christmas tree as that was her favorite color.

Love you sis.

Leave a Reply

